Dundalk FC's Michael Duffy and Jamie McGrath named PFAI Premier Division

PFAI awards

Dundalk FC’s Michael Duffy and Jamie McGrath have been named as the PFAI Premier Division Player and Young Player of the Year for 2018.

Duffy saw off team-mates Patrick Hoban and Chris Shields for the ultimate gong, becoming the third Lilywhite in four seasons to triumph in the category, while McGrath beat off Dylan Watts of Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians’ Daniel Kelly for the Young POTY award.

It was a memorable season for both players as they claimed their maiden Premier Division crown and FAI Cup medals. McGrath also earned a couple of caps for the Republic of Ireland U21s.

The announcement caps a fantastic night for Dundalk, with manager Stephen Kenny having won the Premier Division Manager of the Year crown for the fourth time in five seasons.